As I had mentioned eariler in my Intro, January and February throughout eastern Carolina is dead for fishing. Unless I want to drive 3 hours to an area where I don’t know many people and would probably have to use a guiding service. Which I definitely don’t have the money for right now. Plus I’m more of a “what can I do with less” kind of fisherman. Not really by choice, but my wife would lose her mind if I went to a sporting goods store and purchased $200 or more just to diversify my fishing gear. But, there’s hope on the horizon. 

In March the shad run up the Neuse river. I personally, have never caught one. Which is definitely embarrassing to admit on a fishing blog, but I have fished with people that have. I’m not talking about tiny minnow looking shad, I’m talking about the big ones, white and hickory shad (picture posted below). They are hands down the best bait I have ever used for catfish ingredients. That’s all I really do down here. I froze mine and they lasted me about a month and half of fishing 2-3 times a week. Alot of the locals say that eels are the way to go but I’ve never had any luck with them and they haven’t been anything but a hassle. They twist and wiggle themselves off the hook and then you realized you spent 3 dollars per eel just for it to swim away. Shad are my number one and brim are my number two. 

If any of you guys are in North Carolina and want to fish let me know because I’m not so naive to not wonder that maybe there are places nearby that we could really slay ’em this time of year. Or if any of you are around the Las Vegas area let me know, I’m going to be on a “business trip” from mid February to mid March and would love to fish somewhere I’ve never fished before. 

I can’t wait to get my fishing company going but it’s still at kind of a stand still until I get some stuff figured out but I expect to start uploading to YouTube as soon as I hook into those shad. So keep posted and let me know what you guys think! 

(The big one is a white shad and the two smaller ones are hickory)(photo credit to Terrance Walston)

