For our first interview of the year we interviewed Angling Army. If you don’t know who they are, you will by the end of the interview! Follow them on Instagram @anglingarmy

FP: Give us a brief overview of what Angling Army is all about.

AA: Angling Army is an Instagram page made with the intent of sharing photos of bass from and with people passionate about bass fishing. 

FP: How was Angling Army started?

AA: Angling Army was started in April of 2016, by myself (Jacob Masterson) and a friend that no longer participates (he quit around 5k)

FP: Currently, on your site you guys only have topwater frogs, what’s next?

AA: Currently we only sell topwater frogs, but soon we will sell jerkbaits, poppers, small Swimbaits, and a variety of soft plastics as well as possibly terminal tackle

FP: Recently, you’ve been asking your followers to join the Angling Army. Describe what it means to be a member of the Angling Army. 

AA: When you join the #anglingarmy, you join a team of dedicated anglers that are all about bass fishing. Everyone that joins the team gets a discount code for everything on my website, and your discount % can increase based on how well you promote the #anglingarmy. If you catch a lot of fish with our stuff, take photos of them, and promote us well we will eventually send free tackle with one of your orders.

FP: How long have you been making bass lures?

AA: Honestly, I’ve only been “making” bass lures for the past two weeks. I’ve made a fairly decent popper that still needs hooks, a line tie, and a clear waterproof coat. Other than that I’ve only fooled around with making spooks. I use tools such as belt sanders, circle sanders, a jig saw, a band saw, and a router in my old man’s wood shoppe.

FP: How long does it take you to make one frog?

AA: The frogs aren’t made by me. The frogs are bought wholesale and then sold for only a small % more. That way I can break even and make some money for giveaways, and my followers can get mid range quality tackle for cheap. 

FP: If you could look into a crystal ball and see the future, what would you see when it comes to Angling Army? Ex: Clothing? Sponsorships? etc.

AA: I can definitely see a clothing line for angling Army, but it would have to be nice stuff that I would wear. No cheap, ugly shirts that people design just for the purpose of making a profit.

FP: Is Angling Army your main job? 

AA: Along with angling, I also have a love for social media. I hope by growing AnglingArmy I get a lot of experience that could help me in a possibility of a future career as an influencer. There’s no way I could even consider AnglingArmy a job…I don’t make money from it. What little I do is usually put back into the page in the form of giveaways, etc. I work with my old man on the weekends, he owns a carpentry business. I’m often stuck drooling at the lake all day and not allowed to fish, since most of his jobs are multi million dollar lakeside houses. 
Coming Soon: 

Edited by @gngediting on Instagram
