My first fly fishing season has come and gone, I am happy with where I am. I have improved a lot since the beginning of summer! This journal is about what I will be doing during the winter to prepare for next year. First I will need to change the leader on my fly line. It was getting short because I had to keep cutting out tangles. I will also need to make a gear change. I need a new rod, I’ve decided that I should probably retire my great grandfather’s 100 year old rod. I wouldn’t want it to get damaged so I have decided that it would be best to keep the old rod at home and buy a new one for on the water. I was thinking of a St. Croix Rio Santo because it is affordable, and from what I’ve heard St. Croix is a pretty good rod maker. I will probably buy a few flies as well. I need to research new spots near my house to fly fish for trout! I will continue my journals throughout the winter and keep you guys posted on my progress!

