Just like other sports or hobbies fishing teaches us and helps us develop new values that are applicable to real life situations. Without fishing I would be a different person for sure. Here are a few  things that I have noticed are different between non-fishers and fishers.

Decision Making: While fishing we make a vast amount of decisions regarding lure type, colour, and size as well as the location, and type of line. These are only a few decisions we are forced to make vefore even making a cast. I realize that this helps me make decisions in the real world. I have noticed that when forced to make decisions some people end up running out of time because they are to indecisive. In fishing I make decisions by thinking of the affects that it will cause as well as what I have as a backup if I fail. I’m not saying people should act on impulse I’m just saying that fishing makes people make decisions faster.

Perspective: Fishing gives me perspective on life. It shows me that not everything I stress about is worth stressing over. It is a great way to relax. Sometimes when I am stressed I just think about fishing and it helps.

Patience: Often when fishing patience is necessary. Most of the time when you are fishing you are waiting more than catching.

Spacial Awareness: Fishing forces you to be aware of your surroundings. You need to know the weather, the time, and what species you are fishing for. Fishing really helps you connect with nature because you need to take all of these factors into account if you want to be good.

These are only a few of the life lessons that fishing teaches us. Fishing teaches us all different things but that is what makes it great.

